Search

Pasadena has a Zero Waste Plan (ZWP) Meeting 1/26/21

Updated: Jan 22

The MSC will meet 1/26/21 @4pm to discuss the Zero Waste Plan. Please comment and/or attend on SUP and get the City to focus on this crisis.


Potential comments:

  1. Implement original ZWP goals immediately

  2. Place immediate ban on ALL plastic bags for grocery, retail and take-out

  3. Place immediate ban on ALL accessories for take-out

  4. Engage Pasadena Health Dept to develop a plan to BYOC (cups and containers)

  5. Mandate recycling and organic waste separation at multi-family housing and businesses

  6. Establish plan to ban plastics that aren't recyclable and SUP like water bottles at all city properties and refuse purchase with any city funds by 06/21

  7. Place an immediate 10% tax on every item that is not currently recycled in the state of California as identified in the CalRecycle preliminary assessment unless local haulers can prove they have a recycling market for additional items

  8. Create funding for business ventures to use waste in items

  9. Separate compost and incentivize homeowners to compost with better composting systems

Agenda and Zoom Link

https://www.cityofpasadena.net/commissions/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2021-01-26-Special-Municipal-Services-Committee-Agenda.pdf?v=1611287646101


Email to city on Zero Waste Plan

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1_JxT6y6o5DZ4zLLIjP7iE6DrS3BtLhGEPrt74adECp8/edit?usp=sharing


some email addresses

Andy Wilson awilson@cityofpasadena.net

Ara Malyoan Amaloyan@cityofpasadena.net

Ariel Hudgins ahudgins@cityofpasadena.net

Gabriel Silva gsilva@cityofpasadena.net

Latasha Reese lreese@cityofpasadena.net

Mark Jomsky mjomsky@cityofpasadena.net

Steve Madison smadison@cityofpasadena.net

Steve Mermell smermell@cityofpasadena.net

Char Bland cbland@cityofpasadena.net

Tyrone Hampton thampton@cityofpasadena.net


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Featured Resource: Environmental Working Group

EWG’s team of scientists, policy experts, lawyers and communications and data experts work tirelessly to reform our nation’s broken chemical safety and agricultural laws. They push industries to adopt

©2020 by BAN SUP Refill. Proudly created with Wix.com